Georgetown College


Section 1.  Composition

The Executive council shall consist of the Dean of the College, faculty and academic deans, one representative of the University Faculty Senate, one representative of each academic unit within the College,[1] four student representatives, and such other members as shall be recommended by the Dean with the concurrence of the members of the Council.  The President of the University and the Executive Vice President for the Main Campus will be an ex officio and non-voting member of the Executive Council.

Section 2. Appointment

Members of the Executive Council are appointed by the President of the University.

Section 3. Term of Office

The term of office for all members of the Executive Council shall be one academic year.


Section 1.  Academic Departments and Programs

Each academic unit in the College shall elect its nominee to the Executive Council.  Any member of the ordinary faculty may serve as the representative of the unit.

Section 2. University Faculty Senate

The Senate shall nominate a member of that body through the Dean of the College.

Section 3.  Students

The student representatives shall be the President of the College Academic Council, the Vice-President, and another student selected by the College Academic Council.  A fourth student representative will be chosen at large by the Dean of the College.  At least one of the four students must be a senior and one must be from the Faculty of Languages and Linguistics.  To be eligible, a student must be in good standing academically according to the University rules for holding office and must have been a student in the College for at least one full academic year prior to her or his selection.

Section 4.  Alternates

Upon notice to the Dean, a member may designate an alternate from her or his academic unit, or College Academic Council, to attend any meeting of the Executive Council.

Section 5.  Officers

The officers of the Executive Council shall be the Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary and Parliamentarian.  The Dean shall serve as Chair of the Council and shall designate three other members to serve as Vice-Chair, Secretary, and Parliamentarian.

Section 6.  Steering Committee

The Steering Committee of the Council shall consist of the Chair, the Vice-Chair, three faculty members and one student member.  At the first meeting of the academic year, the faculty members on the Council shall elect three of their number and the student members shall elect one of their number to serve on the Steering Committee for that academic year.


Section 1.  Purpose

The Executive Council is the ordinary academic policy-making body of the College.

Section 2.  Area of Competence

The Executive Council shall determine and approve academic policy for the College, subject to approval by the Board of Directors of the University when necessary or required by the University By-Laws.

Section 3.  Policy Implementation

The Executive Council shall have the right to inquire regularly into the manner in which determined policies are being implemented.


Section 1.  Regular Meetings

The Executive Council shall meet no less than twice during any one semester.  The specific dates shall be designated by the Chair or the Vice-Chair in the absence of the Chair.

Section 2.  Special Meetings

Special meetings may be called by the President of the University, the Executive Vice President for the Main Campus, or by the Chair, or upon the written request of at least ten (10) members of the Executive Council.

Section 3.  Notice of Meetings

Notice of all regular meetings of the Executive Council, stating the time, place, and purpose thereof, shall be given by the Chair at least seven (7) days before the meeting.

Section 4.  Agenda

Any member of the ordinary faculty and any student in the College may propose agenda items to the Steering Committee.  Once constituted, the Steering Committee shall establish the agenda for  all subsequent regular meetings of the Council.

Section 5.  Quorum and Voting

A quorum for ordinary business of the Executive Council shall consist of one-half of the members.  Only members or designated alternates present at the meeting shall have the right to vote.  There shall be no votes by proxy.  A simple majority of all members present shall be required to adopt all motions except amendments to this constitution.

Section 6.  Parliamentary Procedure

The rulings of the presiding officer at all the meetings shall be in accordance with Robert’s Rules of Order.

Section 7.  Duties of the Secretary

The secretary shall keep a fair and accurate record of all the proceedings of the Executive Council.  This record shall be kept in the Office of the Dean for consultation by any member of the Executive Council.

Section 8.  Minutes

Copies of the minutes of each meeting shall be sent to all members of the Executive Council by the Secretary not later than one week before the subsequent meeting.


Section 1.  Manner of Amendment

This Constitution may be amended in the following manner:  A proposed change may be introduced in written form at one meeting of the Executive Council and may be discussed at that meeting.  Action on the proposed amendment, however, must take place at a subsequent meeting in order to give adequate time for discussion and debate.  A two-thirds affirmative vote of those present shall be necessary for its adoption.

Section 2.  Approval of Amendment

Amendments to the Constitution must have the approval of the Board of Directors of the University before they become effective.

1The term “academic unit” shall include all academic departments and those academic programs which grant a certificate, minor or major.  Programs must also have:  a) the approval of the Main Campus Vice President; b) a director appointed by the Main Campus Vice President; c) a budget line; and d) at least two ordinary faculty regularly teaching or administering the program.

Last amended March 14, 1996